Opium

California Supreme Court Historical Society Student Writing Contest

It has been a long time since I’ve posted. I apologize for that. That being said, I now only post for purposes of self-aggrandizement.

Drawing from work I’ve done on this blog, I entered the California Supreme Court Historical Society Student Writing Competition with a paper about an 1885 opium ordinance in Stockton, California. (I know, the topic has been done to death.)

The CSCHS saw it fit to select my paper as the top entry.

Here is the paper if you would like to read it:

“Devilishly Uncomfortable” 

It will be published in the 2011 volume of the Society’s annual journal, California Legal History.

Also, here is their announcement of the winners, including a “Which one doesn’t belong?” photo of me with Chief Justice Cantil-Sakauye, Associate Justice Werdegar, Society President Dan Grunfeld and Board Member Selma Smith.

My thanks to the CSCHS, and to the gracious Justices.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “California Supreme Court Historical Society Student Writing Contest

  1. I just ran across this series of articles. I must say I found them to be excellent and entertaining. Very well done. (I would say the same thing even if I wasn’t prominently mentioned.)

    This is just the kind of thing that I hoped my online library would inspire. The key to ending this drug war is knowledge. Keep up the great work.

    Posted by Clifford Schaffer | February 13, 2012, 2:02 pm
    • Mr. Schaffer-

      Thank you for taking the time to read the articles. I am honored that you found Mexican Opium. Your library is a great resource, and the work you do is inspiring.

      Thanks Again,

      Mike Beitiks

      Posted by beitiks | February 14, 2012, 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

